New: meet Cleo, the AI that lives inside your QR codes.Meet Cleo, the AI inside your QR codesDiscover Cleo →
⏱ 9 min read

Uniqode alternatives in 2026: six QR platforms compared on stated criteria

Prices and limits were read on each vendor's public pricing page on 22 September 2026, and the plan grids are shown below as captured that day. Where a vendor's site states two different figures, both are given. Re-verified quarterly. How we compare QR platforms explains the method.

A hand choosing between printed QR code proofs spread across a wooden desk

Why people look for a Uniqode alternative

Uniqode is a serious enterprise platform, and the head-to-head comparison says so. The searches that bring people here come from four places.

  • Annual-only billing. Uniqode's pricing FAQ states that it offers annual subscriptions only. A team that wants to run dynamic codes for one campaign season cannot pay for a quarter.
  • No free dynamic codes, and a trial that ends hard. The free tier is static codes without analytics. Dynamic codes created in the 14-day trial become inactive unless a paid plan follows, which surprises anyone who printed one.
  • The custom domain. On the Essential ($9) and Core ($49) plans there is no custom domain at all. On Plus ($99) it is an add-on: the plan table lists it at $500 a year, while the pricing FAQ on the same page still shows an older $2,000 figure. It is included on Business+ at $399 a month. For a brand that wants to own the domain its printed codes resolve through, the cheapest route is $99 plus the add-on.
  • Plan changes. Since late 2025 Uniqode has replaced its Starter, Lite and Pro plans with Essential and Core, and during 2026 it cut Essential from 50 dynamic codes to 15. A handful of Trustpilot reviewers in 2025 and 2026 describe renewal prices rising and analytics retention shrinking on existing accounts.

If none of those applies to you, and you value what Uniqode does well, you may be in the right place already.

What Uniqode does well

A fair comparison starts with the reasons to stay. Uniqode holds SOC 2 Type 2 and HIPAA, has been certified to ISO 27001:2022 and states GDPR compliance, with the reports, a business associate agreement and a subprocessor list available from its trust centre. Its API starts at Core ($49). Smart Rules route one code by location, language, device or time of day. It offers GS1 QR codes for packaging. It has Una, an AI assistant inside the dashboard, an assistant that answers people who scan a PDF or menu code from that document, and, from Plus, an MCP connector that lets Claude read scan analytics. Its help centre says a reactivated account gets its codes back with their original short URLs, so printed material can survive a gap in payment, although a September 2026 help article says codes cannot be reactivated once you cancel.

The criteria

  1. Free dynamic codes, and whether they keep working.
  2. Billing: monthly available, or annual only?
  3. Custom domain: on which plan, at what price, and who owns it.
  4. Price and code count at the entry paid plan.
  5. What happens to printed codes when a plan lapses.
  6. Analytics depth and export.
  7. Compliance stated publicly, and where data is hosted.
  8. AI beyond design assistance.
Uniqode pricing page plan grid: Essential $9, Core $49, Plus $99, Business+ $399 per month billed yearly
Uniqode's plan grid as shown on uniqode.com/pricing, 22 September 2026. Prices in USD, billed yearly.

The six alternatives

1. QRCodeKIT: best overall alternative

QRCodeKIT invented the dynamic QR code in 2009 and has run them ever since. Two dynamic codes are free for life, with 100 scans per code per month that renew and never expire. Starter is $20 a month billed yearly for 100 codes with bulk creation from CSV. Pro is $50 a month billed yearly, or $65 monthly, for 1,000 codes, unlimited scans, ten seats and a custom domain included. Enterprise is $150 a month for 5,000 codes, 50 seats, several domains, SSO through Okta or ADFS, and the API. A 7-day money-back period applies. Full detail on the pricing page.

What it shares with Uniqode: unique and total scans with city and country, PDF and XLS export per code and per project, GS1 Digital Link codes, bulk creation, password protection and scheduled expiry, Google Analytics and UTM support, an MCP connector for Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, VS Code and Windsurf on every plan including free, and GDPR compliance. Both have been certified to ISO 27001.

What Uniqode does not have: Cleo, an AI agent trained on all your own content that answers questions from anyone who scans any code, in more than 40 languages (Uniqode's scan-side assistant answers from a single PDF or menu); invisible QR codes that fade into artwork and still scan; Google Reviews codes where the customer taps a star, answers three questions and AI drafts the review; 22 code types including menu, payment, form and multilingual codes; native automations to Zapier, Make, n8n and Canva with webhooks on scan, form and payment events; and EU hosting on AWS EU regions. International transfer terms are set out in its privacy policy.

When a paid plan lapses, codes are deactivated and come back when the plan is renewed, with the account and its data kept. The two free codes keep working regardless.

Weak points against Uniqode: no SOC 2 or HIPAA attestation, and the API is reserved for Enterprise.

Bitly is a link platform that renders a QR code for each short link. Free gives two codes and five links a month with unlimited scans, but the destination cannot be changed, there are no analytics, and free links and codes pass through an ad page before the destination. Core is $10 a month, annual only, for five codes a month with five destination changes and 30 days of data. Growth is $29 billed yearly or $35 monthly for ten codes a month, 20 destination changes, 120 days of data and a complimentary custom domain. Premium is $199 billed yearly or $300 monthly for 200 codes a month, 110 changes and a year of data.

What it shares with Uniqode: SOC 2 Type 2, GDPR and CCPA, an MCP server on every plan including free that creates and repoints QR codes and pulls scan analytics, data export from Growth, country and platform routing from Growth, SSO on Enterprise. Bitly Assist, an AI helper for creating links and reading analytics, is on paid plans.

Where it differs: one URL per code with no native types, codes and destination changes as monthly quotas, and a complimentary domain that Bitly registers and owns. Bitly's support pages state it cannot be transferred to you, so it is not an exit route; a domain you bought yourself and connected on Growth is. When a plan lapses, codes on bit.ly keep working with frozen destinations; codes on the complimentary domain stop when its registration lapses. Bitly states its data centres are in the United States.

Bitly pricing page plan grid: Free, Core, Growth, Premium and Enterprise
Bitly's plan grid as shown on bitly.com/pages/pricing, 22 September 2026. Bitly prices in the visitor's local currency; this capture from the EU shows euros. The figures in the text are the USD prices from the same page as served in the US.

3. QR TIGER: best low-cost self-serve

Three free dynamic codes with 500 scans each in total; the code stops when its 500 scans are used, and free codes show a QR TIGER logo popup on scan. Regular is $7 a month billed monthly, or $65 a year, for 12 codes with 500 API requests a month and a Canva integration. Advanced is $16 a month, billed yearly only, for 200 codes with bulk creation up to 3,000 per batch, Google Analytics, Zapier and HubSpot, and password protection. Premium is $37 billed yearly for 600 codes, a custom domain and 10,000 API requests. Professional is $89 for 1,200 codes, two users, two domains, 50,000 API requests and Sena, a conversational AI that answers questions about scan data. Scans are unlimited on every paid plan.

What it shares with Uniqode: both have been certified to ISO 27001:2022, and both share GDPR and CCPA statements, total and unique scans with a GPS heatmap and CSV export, GS1 Digital Link codes, 25 code types. QR TIGER states it is hosted on AWS in several countries without naming a region. Dynamic codes depend on an active plan; QR TIGER states it keeps an expired account's data for up to a year so a late renewal restores them. Refunds are decided case by case, with unused term refunded pro rata under its terms. Founded in Singapore in 2018. Professional also includes an MCP server. No AI at the scan destination.

QR TIGER pricing page plan grid: Free, Regular US$7, Advanced US$16, Premium US$37
QR TIGER's plan grid as shown on qrcode-tiger.com/payment, 22 September 2026, USD, Regular plan on monthly billing.

4. Flowcode: best for design-led brands

Free gives two codes with analytics for the first 500 scans, ad free; the codes keep scanning after the cap, the dashboard just stops counting. Pro Plus is $25 a month billed yearly, or $60 monthly, for 50 codes, analytics for 6,000 scans, three seats and CSV bulk upload. Growth is annual only at $250 a month, a price its card shows only when the billing toggle is switched and the page's structured data also lists, for 150 codes, analytics for 10,000 scans with geolocation, CRM integrations, the API and five custom domains. Enterprise is custom, with SSO and SmartFlow, its AI campaign optimisation. The QRCodeKIT vs Flowcode head-to-head covers it in depth, and the Flowcode alternatives piece scores the platforms people move to.

What it shares with Uniqode: SOC 2 Type 2, and Flowcode also states HIPAA compliance on its trust centre and healthcare pages. GDPR and CCPA. GS1 Digital Link, payment and file destinations, total versus unique scanners, CSV reports from Pro Plus, smart routing by day, device and location. A prompt-based AI design generator since August 2025.

Where it differs: on cancellation, its help centre says paid codes keep scanning, with only the two most recent still editable, while its terms of use say codes above the free allowance are archived and redirected to flowcode.com or another location of its choosing. Above the $25 plan, the default view of the pricing page shows no price. In February 2024 Flowcode introduced analytics caps that applied to existing accounts, including free ones. Flowcode does not publish where scan data is hosted. Subscription payments are non-refundable under its terms.

Flowcode pricing page self-serve plans: Free, Pro Plus $25, Growth annual only
Flowcode's self-serve plans as shown on flowcode.com/pricing, 22 September 2026, USD. The Growth card shows no price in this default view; switching the billing toggle shows $250 a month, the figure also in the page's structured data.

5. Scanova: best at very small volume

No free dynamic codes: a 14-day trial with no card, then dynamic codes stop working. Basic is $5 a month, annual only, for three codes with unlimited scans and 30 days of analytics. Lite is $9 billed yearly or $15 monthly for ten codes, with Google Analytics, webhooks, password protection, scheduled expiry and AI Studio, its AI landing-page generator. Standard is $35 or $50 monthly for 50 codes, Zapier, ad-platform pixels, white-labelled pages and exports. Pro is $75 or $100 monthly for 500 codes, five users, GPS and one custom domain, with extra users at $60 and extra domains at $120 a year. The API and SSO are Enterprise. Ultra Lite is a single dynamic code for life for $150. The QRCodeKIT vs Scanova head-to-head covers it in depth.

What it shares with Uniqode: both have been certified to ISO 27001:2022, both state SOC 2 and GDPR, and both share unique scans with CSV export, 26 code categories including GS1, AI-generated code designs on every plan, and an open-source MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT and other tools, which Scanova includes from Pro and Uniqode from Plus. Scanova states its servers are on AWS in Oregon, United States. When a trial or plan ends, codes are deactivated, kept in the account and reactivated on subscription. Refunds are limited to an unintended auto-renewal or unresolved technical issues. Operated by Trycon Technologies from India.

Scanova pricing page plan grid: Basic $5, Lite $9, Standard $35, Pro $75, Enterprise
Scanova's plan grid as shown on scanova.io/pricing, 22 September 2026, USD, billed annually.

6. Hovercode: best free tier

Three dynamic codes free for life with unlimited scans, a form builder and GS1 Digital Link codes included, and three months of analytics. Pro is $12 a month for 100 codes, one custom domain and twelve months of analytics. Business is $39 for 600 codes a month, ten domains, the API, bulk creation, CSV export, ten users and GPS. Business Plus is $99 for 2,000 codes a month, 50 domains, 25 users, webhooks and ten workspaces. Monthly or yearly billing, with two months free on yearly. Prices shown in six currencies. The QRCodeKIT vs Hovercode head-to-head covers it in depth.

Where it differs from Uniqode: hosted in Germany with GDPR compliance stated and a data processing agreement on request, but no certification of its own. Around nine code types. An experimental AI design generator and an MCP server on every plan, but no AI at the scan. When a plan lapses, the first three codes stay live, the rest are paused and restored on resubscribing, and codes on a custom domain stop. A UK company that dates itself to 2022, with the shortest track record on the list.

Hovercode pricing page plan grid: Free forever, Pro $12, Business $39, Business Plus $99
Hovercode's plan grid as shown on hovercode.com/pricing, 22 September 2026, USD, monthly billing.

Put it into practice

Create a dynamic QR code free and see it work. No credit card required.

Get started free

Side by side against Uniqode

PlatformFree dynamic codesMonthly billingCustom domainEntry paid planCodes when a plan lapsesCompliance statedHosting statedAI beyond design
Uniqode, for referenceNone; trial codes go inactiveNo, annual onlyAdd-on on Plus $99: $500/yr per plan table, $2,000 per its FAQ; included on Business+ $399$9/mo, 15 codesInactive; two answers on reactivation on renewalSOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, GDPR; has been certified to ISO 27001:2022AWS, United StatesUna assistant, PDF and menu assistant at the scan, MCP analytics for Claude from Plus
QRCodeKIT2, never expireYes on Pro ($65) and Enterprise; Starter yearlyIncluded on Pro $50$20/mo, 100 codesDeactivated; restored on renewal; free codes keep workingHas been certified to ISO 9001, 27001 and 14001; IEC 18004; GDPRAWS EU regionsCleo agent at the scan, MCP on every plan, invisible codes, AI-drafted Google reviews
Bitly2/month, frozen, no analytics, ad pageYes on Growth and PremiumIncluded on Growth $29, Bitly-owned$10/mo, 5 codes/monthKeep working, frozen; complimentary-domain codes stopSOC 2 Type 2, GDPR, CCPAUnited StatesBitly Assist, MCP on every plan
QR TIGER3, 500 scans each, logo popupYes on RegularPremium $37$7/mo, 12 codesStop; data kept one yearGDPR, CCPA; has been certified to ISO 27001:2022AWS, region not statedSena analytics chat and MCP on Professional
Flowcode2, analytics for 500 scans, keep scanningYes on Pro Plus ($60)Growth $250, five domains$25/mo, 50 codesKeep scanning per help centre; archived and redirected per termsSOC 2 Type 2, HIPAA, GDPR, CCPANot statedAI design generator, SmartFlow on Enterprise
ScanovaNone; trial codes stopYes from Lite; Basic yearlyPro $75$5/mo, 3 codesDeactivated; kept, restored on renewalSOC 2, GDPR; has been certified to ISO 27001:2022AWS Oregon, USAI Studio pages, AI designs, MCP server
Hovercode3, never expire, unlimited scansYesPro $12$12/mo, 100 codesFirst 3 stay; rest paused, restoredGDPR stated; no certificationDigitalOcean, GermanyAI design generator, MCP server

Sources: each vendor's public pricing page, help centre and trust or security page, read 22 September 2026. Plan grids as captured that day are shown above.

If compliance is why you bought Uniqode

Be precise about which document you need. Flowcode states SOC 2 Type 2 and HIPAA, as Uniqode does; ask for the business associate agreement and check which plan it comes with, because Flowcode does not publish that. Bitly states SOC 2 Type 2 and Scanova SOC 2, both without HIPAA. QR TIGER and QRCodeKIT have been certified to ISO 27001 without SOC 2. Only Uniqode and Scanova on this list both state SOC 2 and have been certified to ISO 27001.

Hosting is a separate question from compliance. Uniqode, Bitly and Scanova state United States hosting. QRCodeKIT states AWS EU regions and Hovercode states Germany, both under operating companies outside the EU or in the UK. Flowcode and QR TIGER do not name a region. For a buyer with a data-residency requirement, that is the line to get in writing before anything else.

What happens to your printed codes

This is the question that matters most once codes are on packaging, signage or print, and the answers differ more than the prices do.

  • Uniqode: dynamic codes go inactive when a trial or plan ends. Its help centre says reactivating restores them with their original short URLs, while a September 2026 article says codes cannot be reactivated once you cancel. Its terms allow account data to be deleted 30 days after Uniqode terminates an account or after twelve months of inactivity, so export before you cancel.
  • QRCodeKIT: the two free codes keep working indefinitely. Codes on a lapsed paid plan are deactivated and come back when the plan is renewed; the account and data stay.
  • Bitly: codes keep scanning with frozen destinations, on bit.ly; codes on the complimentary domain stop when Bitly stops renewing it.
  • QR TIGER: codes stop; data kept for up to a year for a late renewal.
  • Flowcode: its help centre says codes keep scanning after cancellation, with the two most recent still editable; its terms say codes above the free allowance are archived and redirected.
  • Scanova: codes stop; kept in the account and restored on subscription.
  • Hovercode: the first three codes stay live; others pause and return on resubscribing.

Only two platforms let a code you printed today work in five years without paying: QRCodeKIT for two codes with a renewing monthly allowance, and Hovercode for three codes with unlimited scans.

How to move without reprinting

A Uniqode code printed on Uniqode's domain resolves through Uniqode only. If you leave, it dies unless you reprint. A code printed on a domain you own, connected to Uniqode as its add-on, can be pointed at any platform by changing the DNS record; that is the one consolation of having paid for it. The same logic applies at every vendor on this list, with one trap: Bitly's complimentary domain is registered to Bitly and cannot be transferred, so codes printed on it are not portable. Export your scan history before your annual term ends; with annual billing, renewal is the exit window.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best Uniqode alternative?

For most teams, QRCodeKIT: two dynamic codes free for life, a custom domain included at $50 a month, monthly billing on Pro, EU hosting, and three things no other platform here offers: Cleo, an AI agent trained on all your content that answers whoever scans, invisible QR codes, and Google Reviews codes with AI-drafted reviews. Bitly for link-first teams, Flowcode for design and HIPAA, Hovercode for the most generous free tier, QR TIGER and Scanova for small volumes.

Is there a Uniqode alternative with monthly billing?

Yes. Bitly on Growth and Premium, QR TIGER on Regular, Flowcode on Pro Plus, Scanova from Lite, Hovercode on every plan, and QRCodeKIT on Pro and Enterprise. Uniqode is annual only.

Which alternative includes a custom domain most cheaply?

Hovercode includes one on Pro at $12 a month. Bitly includes a complimentary domain on Growth at $29, but Bitly owns it and it cannot be transferred. QR TIGER includes one on Premium at $37 and QRCodeKIT on Pro at $50, both on a domain you own. Uniqode offers one as an add-on from its $99 plan.

Does any alternative match Uniqode's HIPAA compliance?

Flowcode states HIPAA compliance alongside SOC 2 Type 2 on its trust centre and healthcare pages. Confirm the business associate agreement and the plan it requires in writing. No other platform on this list states HIPAA.

Does any alternative have an AI assistant or an MCP connector like Uniqode's Una?

Several. QRCodeKIT, Bitly, QR TIGER, Scanova and Hovercode all publish MCP servers; QRCodeKIT's and Hovercode's are included on every plan, including free, Bitly's pricing table lists it on every plan, QR TIGER includes its server with Sena, an analytics chat, from Professional, and Scanova from Pro. Uniqode's scan-side assistant answers questions about a single PDF or menu. Only QRCodeKIT has Cleo, an AI agent trained on all your content that answers the person who scanned any code, in more than 40 languages.

Can I move my Uniqode codes?

Codes printed on Uniqode's domain cannot be moved. Codes on a domain you own and connected to Uniqode can be repointed to any platform through DNS. Export your scan history before your term ends.

Two free dynamic QR codes. Yours forever.

No credit card. No expiry. The original dynamic QR platform since 2009.

A dynamic QR code surrounded by the content it can hold